Abbas Akhavan recipient of the Abraaj Group Art Prize 2014

June, 2013

Abbas Akhavan recipient of the Abraaj Group Art Prize 2014

The Third Line is proud to announce that artist Abbas Akhavan has been selected as one of the 5 recipients of the Abraaj Group Art Prize 2014. The Abraaj Group Art Prize is awarded annually to five artists on the basis of proposals for new artworks, which become permanent additions to The Abraaj Group Art Collection following their unveiling at Art Dubai (March 19 - 22, 2014).

The 2014 winners are an internationally-acclaimed and diverse group combining outstanding artistic ability with a desire to engage and champion the arts throughout the region. They have a strong exhibition history regionally and internationally, and have shown works in recent editions of Art Dubai, the Sharjah Biennial and Kochi-Muziris Biennale, among other prestigious, international art events. The prize affords winners the opportunity of developing ambitious projects which without the granted funds would not have been possible. The winning artists announced by The Abraaj Group Art Prize are:

  • Abbas Akhavan (Iran)
  • Anup Mathew Thomas (India)
  • Basim Magdy (Egypt)
  • Bouchra Khalili (Morocco)  
  • Kamrooz Aram (Iran)

The artists will now start working closely with the selected Guest Curator for 2014, Nada Raza (Pakistan). She has the responsibility of supervising the production of the artworks, their display at Art Dubai (from March 19 - 22, 2014), and the publishing of an annual catalogue. 

More information about the atists and the guest curator can be found on the Abraaj Group Art Prize website

The Selection Committee for the prize comprises leading experts in the field of the visual arts including: Antonia Carver, Director, Art Dubai; Dana Farouki, Patron; Salwa Mikdadi, art historian and curator; Jessica Morgan, Daskalopoulos Curator, International Art, Tate; Glenn Lowry, Director, the Museum of Modern Art; and Murtaza Vali, The Abraaj Group Art Prize 2013 Guest Curator.

« Back to all news